Fulbright awards

Two Neeley Professors Honored as Fulbright Faculty Scholars

Management Professor Garry Bruton and Marketing Professor Minakshi Trivedi received prestigious Fulbright awards for their global research and teaching.

September 12,  2017

By Elaine Cole

Fulbright awards are among the most prestigious honors for research and teaching. Candidates must be eminent scholars with significant teaching and publication records. Only 10 TCU professors have been awarded Fulbright honors in the last 17 years, two from the TCU Neeley School of Business: Garry Bruton and Minakshi Trivedi. 

Garry Bruton, professor of management, is a two-time Fulbright Scholar. Bruton was awarded the 2018 Fulbright Hall Chair in Entrepreneurship in Emerging Markets. He won the same Fulbright award in 2005. Bruton’s research has been recognized as highly cited by other academics around the world. Known for his global research and studies, he is the former president of the Asia Academy in Management. He leads undergraduate TCU Study Abroad sessions in Cuba, and previously led graduate TCU Study Abroad sessions in South Africa and China. Bruton teaches international business and strategy.

Minakshi Trivedi is professor and chair of the TCU marketing department. She researches retail issues and consumption behavior, especially the impact of social media and online channels on consumer behavior. Trivedi received the 2014 Fulbright US Scholar Award for her research: “Social Media: A Game Changer.” Her research has won numerous awards and has been published in prestigious marketing journals. She serves on the editorial advisory board of several academic journals including the Journal of Retailing. Trivedi teaches marketing research and analytics. 

The Fulbright Program is designed to increase mutual understanding between people of the United States and people of other countries through the exchange of persons, knowledge and skills. The program provides funding for scholars to engage in research, scholarly and creative activities around the world.  

Other TCU Fulbright Faculty Scholars are Susan Douglas Roberts, professor of dance; Donald Frischmann, professor of Spanish and Hispanic studies; Jack Hill, professor or religion; San-Ky Kim, associate professor of voice and opera; Harold Marina, pianist-in-residence; Mauricio Papini, professor of psychology; Ken Stevens, professor of history; and Peter Szok, professor of history.